My Corner

Posted: April 29, 2012 in My Corner, wall of text
Tags: , ,

Working areas can be interesting places, they can tell you so much about a person. I’ve a small house and with no room to spare (yet) I’ve claimed a corner in my living room, my corner.

My corner is warded by a fierce looking Spawn wielding a 2-handed runic sword. He keeps an eternal vigil, stoically standing over his tall tower of books. He knows the importance of his task, for such books contain the core of my inspiration.

To my wife’s dismay the wall of books that surrounds my corner keeps growing. I have around 150 books next to/on/in/underneath my desk and many more on shelves around the house. I like the smell of them, the texture of the paper and the weight. Don’t get me started about e-books…

I don’t know for sure when this fascination for books began. But I remember fondly when I was just a child and I used to go to visit my grandad over the weekends. He had a massive library at his study, tall shelves with books of all sorts. He would let me go loose and explore this magical room to my heart content and some times he would read countless stories to me, his eyes shining.

Now over 30 years later I’ve my own collection of books of all sorts. I don’t have a big study I’ve just a corner, but it is my corner. And when I see the books towering over my desk I feel like that little kid once more, my eyes shining.

-Forjador.

Comments
  1. nayrelen says:

    Oh, those little corners, like hidden places in the depths of an old Gothic library. Our most loved and sacred personal sanctuaries .. immaculate, untouchable … covered with dust and spidersweb ..

    Clearly your love for books is overwhelming. Maybe .. someday I also do some photography of my corner in the deepest corner of the most distant and higher tower.

  2. lygris says:

    http://thebolthole.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=1964&p=44059#p44059

    Forjador, are you free for a paying job? -He2etic

  3. forjador says:

    Hey Lygris, thanks for the link. I’m about to finish the artwork for Razhbad so I’ll have time to invest on a project like this. Love the idea.

  4. Mona says:

    What a lovely corner 😀 I can’t wait to have my own flat soon with a big wall for all my books and artbooks and DVDs, Figures & Dragon Statues…

    Does your Wife not like books? I’m so glad my boyfriend shares my passion for books.
    Here’s a little part of my stuff… most of it is at my bf’s home where I lived for a while, but I’m so glad I have some stuff over here

  5. forjador says:

    Hey, I’m glad you like it 😀

    My wife likes books, but she’d preferred my books to be in bookshelves though!

    You have quite an impressive selection, good music taste also! I’ve been keeping an eye on that Jim Lee’s Icons for long time, I’ll treat myself to it one of these days 🙂

  6. Mona says:

    I see 😀

    Go, get the icons artbook 😀 it’s worth the money (on my opinion) especially if you’re someone who gets much inspiration from sketches and artwork. There’s everything in it from sketches to finished artwork.
    Speaking of artbooks… I can really recommend “Frank frazetta: Master of Fantasy Art” my biggest treasure and one of my favourite artists in general

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Frank-Frazetta-Master-of-Fantasy-Art-brand-new-shrinkwrapped-/370624770882?pt=US_Nonfiction_Book&hash=item564af53342
    But you should really compare prices if you decide to order it,,, as far as I know it’s only in german and there are much cheaper offerings in the german ebay or amazon

  7. forjador says:

    Thanks for that. I’ll definitely get Jim Lee’s book 🙂

    I’m a huge Frank Frazetta fan, I’ll check for Mastery of Fantasy Art (thanks for the link). I have Frank Frazetta: ICON, which is very good: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Icon-Frank-Frazetta/dp/1887424717/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1353432693&sr=8-1

    Also I’d recommend, in case you haven’t seen it, Frazetta: Painting with Fire. It is a very good documentary, lot of things I didn’t know about him. I got mine from iTunes, here is a link to IMDb: http://uk.imdb.com/title/tt0363621/

  8. Mona says:

    Thanks for the links 😀 oh wow I’ve never even heard of the documentary. Definetely need to see it.

Leave a Reply

