Miriael Sabathiel

Posted: May 11, 2011 in ball-point pen, Warhammer 40k
Tags: , , , ,

To see a bigger image please click on the picture.

Black ball-point pen on paper.

According to the Lexicanum, the Codex: Sisters of Battle 2nd edition states: “A sign of the Sisters strength is the fact that in their entire history only a single sister, Miriael Sabathiel, has fallen to the lure of Chaos. How Miriael fell is unknown, only that she was turned from the Emperor’s light to Slaanesh worship, and now serves as one of the prince of chaos’ greatest warriors.”

Miriael’s combat prowess is well documented: her blade killed Khorgath, Champion of Khorne. Her bolt pistol executed Justicar Tankrius of the Grey Knights. Her machinations trapped Autarch Eliathon of Ulthwe.

Most images portrait Miriael on her prime: a Champion of Slaanesh, glowing runesword in hand, armour sealed with demonic wards. But I wanted to explore a different angle. It is said that Miriael’s most powerful weapon is he siren’s beauty, so I wanted to show Sabathiel at the beginning of her falling; naked and wielding no weapons – looking almost fragile. Get drawn into her eyes, get lured by her flesh… is your will going to be strong enough to resist?

-Forjador.

Comments
  1. Blaq says:

    Oh I love the shading on this. I thought that the last post only had a fragment of the full drawing, but it seems you’ve decided to not go for the drawing the whole thing (the champion of Slaanesh or whatever she’s leaning on), so I’m a bit disappointed, but I guess that drawing anything besides her would take the focus away from her in that pose.

    I like her pose, but I think that her shoulder looks a bit weird (a bit to masculine compared to her body), shaded like that. Same with her thighs, it feels as if they are a bit too muscular (they don’t get any narrower further down). But my art education begins and ends with looking at pretty pictures, so I’m probably not really qualified to criticise. 😀

    It’s still an awesome drawing. Good job. 🙂

  2. forjador says:

    Hey Blaq! I’m glad you liked it 😀

    You’re right, originally I drew a bigger picture but it was taking the focus away from Miriael. So at the end I decided to cut the image.

    About her body, yes she is very muscular, she is not an Olympian but she is a warrior after all – we’re talking about an Adepta Sororita! I think a prime Cory Everson would make an awesome model for a Battle Sister – and she is more muscular than my Miriael 😛

    There is a lot of room for improvement, the hair could have been better for example. Shame there is not an undo button, though that’s part of the fun.

    Thank you for your comment 🙂

  3. theerivs says:

    I always admired your work, but I love this piece. I didn’t know that about the Sisters of Battle either, that one of their number was corrupted. very cool.

  4. forjador says:

    Thank you Rivs, yeah the Sisters of Battle are really cool; can’t resist sexy girls in armour – though in this case without 🙂

  5. damn that is bad ass

  6. forjador says:

    Thank you 🙂

  7. Dave says:

    Dude this is fantastic and deserves to be explored… I’m on it. Can you give me that exact references and any concept art linked to Miriael Sabathiel? in case I miss it send it to me at dave@blackmarketminiatures.com and I’ll fill you in on my plan.

  8. Forjador says:

    Thank you Dave. The only references I’ve used for this drawing were pictures of different models to double check the anatomy was right. The armour is from memory, it is the armour worn by the Black Guard in Warhammer Online: http://www.warhammeronline.com/BlackGuard

    I’m not updating this blog anymore, I have a new one: http://manuelmesones.com/artblog/

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

