Sketch: Dwarven Heroes

Posted: September 28, 2009 in sketch
Tags: , , , , , ,

Dwarven Heroes

gotrek

morek

halgar

Sketch: Pencil on paper.

You may have noticed by now that I have a soft spot for the dwarfs. There is something about their character that I feel identified with. Things like tradition, honour, courage and love for good beer. 😛

There are three characters that in my opinion summarize what the dwarfs are about:

Gotrek Gurnisson from Gotrek and Felix series by William King and more recently by Nathan Long

Morek Stonehammer from Honourkeeper by Nick Kyme

Halgar Halfhand from Oathbreaker by Nick Kyme

Gotrek and Felix series are a Warhammer classic, but if you like dwarfs I heartily recommend Nick Kyme’s books, he is a fantastic writer that really capture the spirit of the dawi. Go and have a look at his website 🙂

I will be inking this sketch and perhaps taking it to Photoshop. I’ll keep it simple but I might be able to make a wallpaper out of this drawing.

On my to do list I still have to finish the tribute for herr McNeill and I have some more tributes planned for Dan Abnett and Nick Kyme. Expect more Warhammer 40k as I’m currently reading Tales of Heresy.

Edited: Perhaps I should add to that list Malakai Makaisson, the crazy engineer from Gotrek & Felix novels. Surely Malakai is not your typical dwarf -or your typical slayer!- but he certainly deserves a mention as a dwarven hero and maybe he should have his own entry 😉

-Forjador.

Comments
  1. Gretha says:

    plain awsome, lad

  2. Tremblerose says:

    I live with Forjador. Keep up the excellent work darling.

  3. […] sweet Dwarf art at Portraits of […]

  4. Thallian says:

    Aye! Did you draw these? They are stupendous!

  5. forjador says:

    Aye! Thank you Thallian, nice to see you here 🙂

    Currently I’m working on a second sketch that I’ll post as soon as is finished 🙂

  6. nayrelen says:

    One word: Fantastic

Leave a Reply

