Tribute series: Ultramarines

Posted: August 11, 2009 in sketch, Tribute Series
Tags: , , , ,

Sketch: Pencil on paper.

I have been reading Warhammer (Fantasy) and WH40k novels for long time. Some of my favourite writers are (in not particular order): Dan Abnett, Nick Kyme, Graham McNeill, William King, C.L. Werner and Gav Thorpe.

Series like Gaunt’s Ghosts, Gotrek & Felix and Horus Heresy are among my old time favourites. It is thanks to writers like those mentioned above that my imagination gets set free to roam through extraordinary universes. It is for this reason that I decided to start a Tribute series, a personal homage to honour my favourite authors and their novels.

I talked this idea with my good friend Felix Lopez from  Kharak Studios and we decided to work something together. So the plan is to start with some illustrations to finally bring them to life by making a diorama out of them -that is Felix’s expertise.

We decided to start these Tribute series with the iconic Herr McNeill’s Ultramarines.  The picture above is just a pencil sketch that I will use to make the first illustration of the series. I have a lot of things to tweak on that drawing but I’ll do so once painting it.

Finally, I want to apologise once more for the lack of activity recently. I’ll try to keep you updated even if it is just with different stages of progress of the illustration or new sketches and roughs I keep doing for future pieces.

-Forjador.

Comments
  1. nayrelen says:

    Is comming!! An epic moment.

  2. inknform says:

    nice work! Great composition!

  3. Gretha says:

    Aye, but I think you should one Dark Angel version of this as well when you decide to colour it 😉

  4. forjador says:

    Thank you for the thumbs up guys and gals 🙂

    Gretha, aye I love the Dark Angels and I’d really like to do something with them. I’m about to start reading Angels of Darkness by Gav Thorpe.

  5. Joanna says:

    That’s stunning, even though it has an ultramine. That ‘nid’s going to be sneezing out bolter shrapnel for weeks.

  6. forjador says:

    Haha, yes. Ultramarines for some people are like Marmite: love it or hate it. Thanks for your comment Joanna.

  7. This looks amazing 🙂

Leave a Reply

