The devil is in the details

Posted: June 18, 2009 in wall of text

Once I read: “The devil might be in the details, but so is the heart of a story”. I couldn’t agree more.

I’ve been doing my homework. One of the things I value a lot on an illustration is the power of detail. Little things like a rusty brooch, a fading tattoo, embroidered runes on a tattered cloak or an old parchment attached to some dented armour; all these things can tell you a whole story on their own.

So I’ve been gathering all the information I could about the Astartes. Some books are very difficult to track, but there are excellent sites out there like The Bolter and the Chainsword, where you can find the answers if you know the questions 😛

I believe that the better you know your subject, the better results on your artwork. Details add character, realism and are a treat for those who know their lore: the passionates. After some researching and many doodlings I’m ready to start my next illustration. It is going to be part of a bigger picture, a nice little project I’m quite excited about. I can’t tell you any details yet but I’m very motivated and I wish I had more time in my hands.

Leaving Warhammer 40k for a moment and going back to the Old World, I got hold of a copy of Grudgelore -A History of Grudges and the Great Realm of the Dwarfs- by Nick Kyme and Gav Thorpe. Man, what a book! I’d say it is a must for any Warhammer fan. Nicely written it has a lot of detailed information and is full of gorgeous illustrations. It’s a shame it is sold out and I really wish the Black Library to make a reprint in the near future.

On a side note, as some of you may noticed, I’ve reorganized my links. I have added some more links from writers and artists that usually do some work for Games Workshop or the Black Library. If you have some related links that you think I should add, please let me know.

-Forjador.

Comments
  1. Bullbeard says:

    cheer lad! just passing by to have a look around here 😀
    I sow you’ve had your well deserved recognition by Paul himself! Man! you rock!
    What’s these next project you’re working on? i’m courious…hope ther’ll be some Ironbreakers in it 🙂
    See soon lad

  2. forjador says:

    He he, cheers Bullbeard. There are ironbreakers in the future for sure, but the next illustration will be about Warhammer 40k.

    Time, my friend, is merciless and I don’t have enough of it. That’s why it is taking me so long to update.

    I’m sorry I can’t have my blog updated with artwork more often, I wish I could spend more time on it but my work gets on the way. Never mind though, as soon as I have a sketch ready I’ll post it to let you all know where I’m at.

Leave a Reply

