Archetype Series: Slayer II

Posted: May 11, 2009 in Archetype Series, digital art
Tags: , , ,

complete_scene

Illustration done using Photoshop CS3 & a Wacom Graphire 3

This is what has been keeping me busy…

Some weeks ago I posted a ball-point pen drawing of Gardar, the slayer. I wanted to put some colour to his world and this took me longer than I expected.

I haven’t been painting anything complex for few years now so I was feeling really rusty. After reading some books about matte painting I decided to try out some techniques, and I have to say I really had good fun messing about with my drawing.

I’m still not 100% happy with the results, I think I’m going to review this painting in the near future. I really want to work more on the slayer’s face. But to be completely honest I’m actually sick of it. It has taken me roughly about 40 hours work. So I though I better post this now or I’ll never do it!

I’m going to make some wallpapers out of this illustration, I will be posting them through the Warhammer Vault, I’ll let you know when these are ready.

Meanwhile, if you want to take a closer look to the painting, please check here.

-Forjador.

Update 12.05.09: I’ll be polishing some details on the illustration soon. I need to work on the face, shoulder and some bits that are too flat. I could do add more depth to some textures as well. Thank you all for your support 🙂

Update 13.05.09: I’ve been working on the colours, giving more tones to the skin and creating more volume. I’ve amended the anatomy of the shoulder and reworked the face. I’m trying giving Gardar some scars and veins but I’m not sure if I’ll leave them for the final version. On the next days I’ll rework the axe to make it look more dwarvish. I should have a revised version next week. I’ll keep you informed!

Comments
  1. Mutters says:

    You are THE MAN!

  2. Dont says:

    Whoa.. quite epic 8)

  3. Pedro C. Barreto says:

    He is my cousin!!!!!! congrats Manuel you will be soon the best in England. God bless you!!!!

  4. Mosen says:

    Eres un monstruo. Es impresionante. De verdad, muy muy bien. A veces me sorprendo de conocer a gente con esta creatividad. me ha impactado

  5. Gimbli says:

    Great atmosphere and detail. Brilliant. Looks chilly though 😉

  6. Stevez says:

    Madre mia que pasada. Es impresionante, me encanta. Como dice Mosen, es impactante que tu seas capaz de plasmar lo que nosotros no somos capaces ni de imaginar…

  7. Bullbeard says:

    well lad, the fact i’ve stopped playing warhammer (dunno yet if temporary or not) doesn’t mean i can’t sneak here once in while and keep cecking your draws….and btw these last one is simply amazeing! really a good job 🙂

  8. forjador says:

    Thank you all for your comments 🙂

    You can find the final version here
    Pueden encontrar la versión final aquí
    Окончательная версия здесь
    https://forjador.wordpress.com/2009/05/17/archetype-series-slayer-ii-revised/

Leave a Reply

